Twitter Troubles

I first opened my Twitter account in high school, but it was the last of my social media preferences, and even then I never Tweeted.  So I deleted the account, figuring that it was more of a distraction than anything. Now, in my second year of university, I am awkwardly and nervously trying to navigate the dimensions of the Twitterverse once again–this time, for educational purposes. I have heard over and over again about the benefits of educators using Twitter, as well as the different ways in which Twitter can be incorporated into the classroom. So I am trying to learn for professional development purposes, but let me say this: Twitter intimidates me. My mom would always warn me about the dangers of putting personal information online, and as a result, I grew up a technological scared-y cat, ensuring that any and all personal information be hidden off of my social media sites. So you can imagine the mental breakdown that occurred when I unprotected my Tweets and suddenly, people whom I have never met, or let alone heard of, are following me on Twitter.  I guess you could say that I am experiencing feelings of technological discomfort, but I am trying to keep an open mind.

Leave a Reply

