#LearningProject: Making It Meaningful

This past Saturday, I sought out help from my ECMP 355 classmates and the Twitterverse regarding my #LearningProject.  For those who don’t know about the infamous #LearningProject, the purpose of the assignment is to learn a skill that is significant and complex using online sources (i.e. videos, text resources, podcasts, etc.) and to document and share learning progress openly in an online space.  I had it narrowed down to four ideas, but I was struggling to ultimately decide on a skill to learn–after all, I wanted to choose something that would be meaningful to me and that I would enjoy learning if I was going to be spending 50+ hours on it.  So, I turned to my PLN, or my Personal Learning Network.  I posted two polls, one on Twitter and one in our ECMP 355 Google Plus Community, and asked people to vote on which skill they thought I should learn.  In total, 24 people voted in the two polls (not including the people I polled in person), and I also received feedback via online comments and Tweets.  These were the results:

Screenshot (36)

The results of the Google Plus Community poll.

Screenshot (33)

The results of the Twitter poll.

First off, thank you to everyone who took the time to vote in either of the polls.  Based on the results of the polls, baking seemed like the obvious (and yummiest!) choice, and for awhile I considered it.  Ultimately, though, I chose something else.

I have struggled with my hair my whole life–it is something that always gets me down. When it comes to hair, like technology, my skills are very basic.  My hair is very flat, fine, and frizzy, and the only two things that I successfully know how to do with my hair are straighten it or put it up into a ponytail.  After awhile, these two hairstyles get kind of boring.

I don’t know how to curl my hair (I don’t even own a curling iron), I don’t know how to braid, I don’t even know how to do something as simple as a “messy bun”. Styling my hair is something that I have always wanted to learn; I am constantly pinning cute hair ideas on Pinterest wishing that I could achieve such hair goals.  I don’t know if its that I’ve never had the time or if I’ve never taken the time because I have been too scared to fail (perfectionist over here), but whatever the case, I simply never learned.

That being said, for my #LearningProject, I have decided to learn how to style, or “do” my hair, and as mentioned above, I am basically starting from ground zero.  As fun as it would have been learning how to bake, baking isn’t something that I have constantly thought about like this, and now that I have 50+ hours available for this project, I can’t think of a more personally meaningful skill for me to learn.  By the end, I am hoping to have learned a variety of hairstyles and techniques so that I can do more than simply straighten my hair.  Time to get started!

What hairstyle should I try first? Have any hair tips? Share your thoughts/experiences in the comments.

 

7 thoughts on “#LearningProject: Making It Meaningful

  1. ayshayaqoob says:

    Glad you narrowed it down! This seems like a fun learning project. I didn’t know how to do anything with hair until I started working at a daycare over the summer. French braiding down the side of your head takes some practice but is actually not that tough! Can’t wait to see your progress 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • amypmartin says:

      Thanks! I just figured that if I’m given the time, I might as well learn something that I have always wanted to learn. If I discover any great hair tips I’ll let you know. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

