Learning Project 2.0

For my major project this semester I have chosen to tackle the Learning Project…again!

For those who don’t know about the infamous Learning Project, the purpose of the assignment is to learn a skill that is significant and complex using online sources (i.e. videos, text resources, podcasts, etc.) and to document and share learning progress openly in an online space. I had the opportunity to do a Learning Project when I took ECMP 355 last year in spring semester (check out my project here), and I enjoyed the assignment so much that I have decided to do it again — this time in ECMP 455. That being said, after much deliberation, I have decided that for my Learning Project 2.0 I am going to learn how to cook!

Let me start off by saying that I’m not a terrible cook — I can work an oven or a stove-top without burning the house down. However, my cooking skills are quite limited in the sense that I only know how to cook a few, very basic dishes like spaghetti with store-bought pasta sauce and, my signature, pan-friend chicken with a side of Minute Rice. 32029451061_85c921e18e                                     Photo Credit: guiapopular Flickr via Compfight cc

Cooking is something that I’m really interested in (fun fact: cooking shows are a guilty pleasure of mine) and have always wanted to get better at, I’ve just never put in the time or effort. Though, now that I have 40+ available for this project, I finally have the time to learn. Over the course of the semester, my goal for my Learning Project is to simply increase my cooking skills so that, by the end, I can make more than just pasta and one kind of chicken. However, there are a couple factors that I want to consider during my project: cost and nutrition.

I currently live at home, so I have the luxury of not having to worry about buying groceries. I often don’t have to worry about cooking for myself either — my mom typically makes meals for my family. However, I am in my final semester of university and don’t plan on living at home forever. Once I have a job and am living on my own, I’m going to have to be conscious of how much money I am spending on things like food. That being said, budgeting is something that I want to consider during my Learning Project, so I am going to focus on learning budget-friendly meals that I can make for under $25. In addition, while I’m not a health-nut, eating healthy is relatively important to me, so I’d also like to focus on finding nutritious meals that I can make.

Please follow my Learning Project journey on my blog and on Twitter. Time to get cooking!

 

8 thoughts on “Learning Project 2.0

  1. kirschsarah says:

    I really like the additional spin you are taking on the “learning to cook” project! It is always helpful to learn about delicious and healthy meals that are also affordable – I know my time as a university student has really forced me to always look for a cheaper option when buying groceries. But I have kind of said goodbye to deliciousness and healthy eating with that decision, so I look forward to what you are going to learn about balancing all the factors.

    Good luck on the learning project, Amy!

    Like

  2. anilakanwal says:

    My favorite thing to do is to cook… I love trying new things in cooking. Now I am thinking why didn’t I choose this project… 😉
    I mostly make east Indian dishes but I am excited to learn a new cuisine by following your learning.. Good Luck !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

