Boomerang and Buttermilk Waffles

After the breakfast casserole fiasco last week, this week I decided to follow through with my original plan which was to also learn how to make homemade waffles using my mom’s new waffle iron.

A few weeks ago I found a recipe for homemade buttermilk waffles on Pinterest. The recipe was originally posted to the food blog Sprinkle Some Sugar, which you can check out here. If you already have a waffle iron at home, then this recipe is rather inexpensive. There are only eight ingredients — most of which are basic, everyday items that you usually have lying around at home. Following this recipe, I was able to make four large waffles, which was perfect for my family of three. However, if you were cooking for a larger group, I would recommend doubling the recipe. Here’s a breakdown of how much I spent on the ingredients:

Cost For Ingredients:

  • All-purpose flour – $0 (had at home)
  • Baking powder – $3.12 for a 225 g container
  • Granulated sugar – $0 (had at home)
  • Salt – $0 (had at home)
  • Vanilla extract – $0 (had at home)
  • Butter – $0 (had at home)
  • Eggs – $4.82 for a carton of 18
  • Buttermilk – $4.53 for 2 L

Total = $12.47

This was my first time using the new waffle iron, so it took a few tries to produce a really good-looking waffle like the one in the picture above. For example, the recipe that I followed said to use about ½ – ¾ cup of batter per waffle, but because the waffle iron that I used is so large, that wasn’t enough batter to cover the entire iron. As a result, the first couple waffles came out slightly deformed. After some experimenting though, I found that 1 cup of batter per waffle was the best ratio to use with my waffle iron.

 

Aside from a few weird-looking waffles, this recipe was awesome — one that I would definitely make again. The waffles were light and fluffy but had a rich, buttery flavour. They were a big hit with my family. If anything, I would add a splash more vanilla to the waffle batter to make it a touch sweeter, but that’s just me being picky. There was also very little prep involved, so the recipe was super simple to make.

 

 

Lately, I’ve been trying to find new ways to demonstrate and document my Learning Project progress. Last week I used iMovie to create a Tasty-like tutorial video for the breakfast casserole that I made. While iMovie was quite easy to navigate, the whole experience of video editing was a disaster (you can read more here) — worrying about recording my Learning Project took the fun out of cooking. This week, I tried out Boomerang. Boomerang is a free app that shoots a burst of 10 photos and turns them into a mini video that loops back and forth. What I like about Boomerang is that it provides a simple but unique and creative way to document events and experiences. All of the videos that are included in this post I shot using Boomerang. You can check out all of the Boomerang videos that I made for this recipe on Twitter!

 

9 thoughts on “Boomerang and Buttermilk Waffles

  1. carmellekgerein says:

    I love waffles! It’s tied with bacon as my favorite breakfast food. Looks like the waffle you made turned out perfect! My dad and I have them all the time! I have chocolate chip cinnamon waffles with vanilla protein powder and my dad lieks blueberry walnut waffles, but ours aren’t homemade we use a mix. That is the same waffle iron that we have! I think it’s really good.

    I don’t think I’ve heard of Boomerang before (or maybe we talked about it in class). Looks like a cool app though!

    My recommendation this week is cordon bleu. I love cordon bleu and think it’s an easy way to fancy up chicken haha. Here is a link to a recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/8669/chicken-cordon-bleu-ii/

    Good luck on your next cooking adventure!

    Like

  2. amypmartin says:

    Thanks for your comment, Carmelle! My mom and I have been on a health-kick lately, so I might have to try adding ingredients like protein powder or blueberries and walnuts to our waffles to make them a little more nutritious.

    Like

  3. Ms. Parker says:

    Oh my, my… my mouth is watering… Your waffles looks sooo great. And I loved the boomerang videos. I think I will try it out with my animation students next week.
    By the way, how did you record your cooking video? Did you attach your phone on your forehead? or someone held the phone for you? I know you said the editing was disaster, but it looks great!
    Awww… I need waffles for dinner tonight!

    Like

    • amypmartin says:

      Hi Eriko,

      My mom helped me get the footage for my cooking video — it was definitely a two-person job! I’m glad you enjoyed the video. I put a lot of work into it and I’m very proud of how it turned out. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  4. Randi Church says:

    Breakfast foods are definitely one of my favourite foods! It’s super easy to make and it’s easy to mix up the recipes for later in the day. A good twist for waffles is adding cinnamon and vanilla, just for more flavour!
    Also, bacon waffles. If you have the chance haha

    Liked by 1 person

  5. anilakanwal says:

    By the looks of it, i would say it would be tasty. I thought you used gif animation tool to make those videos. Thank you for letting us know about that app. Good luck for your next recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

